Our logo

Our logo features a tree trunk sprouting new branches and 5 leaves. Needless to say, we chose that logo for a reason.

Since the days of French rule, Dutch coins have been minted in Utrecht. In the time of the Seven United Provinces and the Batavian Republic, however, there were several mints with their own mint masters and mint directors. At some mints, mint marks were placed on the coins indicating either the mint or the mint master.

De Munt te Harderwijk 1607
Voormalige Munt Harderwijk (2018)

A mint of the Province of Gelderland was based in Harderwijk from 1584 onwards. From 1757 to 1776, the mint master there was Carel Christiaan Novisadi. To symbolise his name Novisadi (literally: ‘new branch’), his mint mark was a tree trunk with a new branch and six leaves. We regarded this as a very fitting symbol of our company too; we are based in Harderwijk and also have a new branch – the fifth generation within the Schulman family. Hence, we’ve changed the number of leaves from six to five, but who knows what the future holds…

The ‘new branch’, mint mark of Carel Christiaan Novisadi  (dukaton 1760)